Physics!

Inertia is “the resistance of any physical object to any change in its motion (including a change in direction)” (Hat tip, Wikipedia).  In English that means that a moving object will stay in motion, or an unmoving object will remain still, unless an outside force changes things (for example, gravity, friction, or your brother, who picks up a rubber ball and chucks it at your head.  Ow).

I think the principle of inertia applies to people, too.  Have you ever noticed that when you get into a rhythm, it’s easy to stay in that rhythm?  For example, you wake up every day at 7:00 to feed the cat.  You regularly go to the gym 3 times a week.  Friday night is always date night.

The hard part is getting back to your regularly scheduled programming.  You went on vacation, and getting up to feed the cat seems SO early.  You skipped going to the gym for a week while you were sick.  Getting back on that proverbial ol’ horse seems so daunting.

Or, in my case, I took time off yoga while entertaining out-of-town guests, and I just can’t muster up the motivation to get my butt back in class.  I love yoga.  It makes me feel good.  I intellectually know this, but why-oh-why does it seem like so much work to get back into the groove?  Even though my guests headed home, I still skipped a couple of my regular yoga classes.  Hrmph.  Maybe I’ll go tomorrow.

See?  I’m not lazy.  I just have inertia.  It’s physics!  Thanks, Sir Isaac Newton!

 

 

On another note, I hope you have a nice weekend, People of the Blogosphere!  If I have any exciting thoughts over the next two days, I promise I will write them down and share them with you next week.

One thought on “Physics!

  1. Pingback: No More Physics as Justification! | Thought of the Day Blog

Leave a Reply

