The Law of Attraction

Have you heard of the Law of Attraction?  I imagine most people have heard of this idea even if you’re not exactly sure what it means.  It means that the things you say, think, and do–the energy you put out into the Universe–directly affects the events that happen to you.  The people and situations you encounter?  You manifested them.

It seems like this idea has existed for a while.  The Bible says, “For as he thinks in his heart, so is he” (Proverbs 23:7), and Jesus said, “Everything is possible for one who believes” (Mark 9:23) before he cured a boy of what we might call epilepsy in present times.  Today, various authors (like Abraham via Esther and Jerry Hicks) and celebrities (Oprah, for example) still promote the same basic ideas.

Does it work for regular people like you and me?  I certainly hope so!

According to (my condensed version of) the Law of Attraction, if you do the following steps, you can manifest your dream:

1. Be clear, really clear on what you want.

2. Ask God/the Universe for it.  Have faith that you will receive what you asked for.  There’s no room for doubt or wishy-washy wishes here.

3. Feel the feelings you would have if your dream came true.

4. Feel gratitude for all that you have received.

I’m really good at steps 3 and 4.  But considering that I am stuck on #1 and 2, I’m not sure I can manifest anything at this point.  And since I don’t think I can do it, then I’m sure that means I’m right.  Hmmm…  I’m gonna work on this.  Stay tuned.

One thought on “The Law of Attraction

  1. Pingback: The Law of Attraction, Part 2 | Thought of the Day Blog

Leave a Reply

