Fall Comfort Food

Here in LA, it’s recently started to seem like fall.  There’s a bit of a chill in the air, and we’ve had some cloudy skies and drizzles this week.  I’ve even reintroduced sweaters to my wardrobe.  (I can hear you people in colder climates snickering, “Cold?  In LA?”  You’re not wrong.  Today’s high is supposed to be in the mid/upper 70s [about 25 degrees for you Celsius folks], but I think that’s just a temporary little warm up.  Summer’s last hurrah.  I promise, it’s been a bit chilly otherwise.  Well, by my standards at least…)

A lot of people I know get excited for all the pumpkin-flavored foods that re-emerge this season, but I’ve opted for a little treat that is near and dear to my heart: my mom’s chili.  There’s just something so comforting about having a warm, tasty meal from my childhood.  It’s like nourishment for the soul, too.  (Side note/epiphany: Ohhhhhhhhhh, I think I just figured out where the term “soul food” comes from.  Duh.)  Chili is the perfect dish when it’s overcast and cool outside, or what I like to call “snuggle weather.”

Yes, I know chili isn’t technically paleo when you put beans in it.  I did pair it with paleo “cornbread” muffins, though.  According to my math, those two should offset.  Right?  That’s how it works, isn’t it?

 

 

Happy Halloween!!  Hope you get lots of treats and very few tricks!

Leave a Reply

