Doing Some Good, Part 2

As promised, here is the update on my very first volunteer shift at the animal shelter.

Well, I can’t say it was quite what I expected.  I was pretty darn excited (and actually a little nervous.  I always get nervous for the weirdest things).  I signed in at the volunteer office, put on my apron, and headed to the dog kitchen, which is the central point for all things canine.  I wasn’t exactly sure how to jump in and help, so I stood there awkwardly for a few moments before finding a staff member and asking what I could do.  What did she tell me?

Dishes.

I spent the entirety of my 2-hour shift washing and sanitizing hundreds of dog bowls.  It wasn’t particularly exciting, nor was it exactly how I envisioned “volunteering” since I can do dishes at home (lol).  But I’m glad to have helped.  Several different staff members sincerely thanked me for it, so that felt nice.  And it was a good thing I was there!  I was just finishing up sanitizing the last few items when the staff started grabbing bowls and making preparations for the next meal time!

Hmm…  I wonder what I’m gonna do for my next shift!

Till then, I’m gonna be slathering on hand lotion.  My pruny fingers are not cute.  🙂

One thought on “Doing Some Good, Part 2

Leave a Reply

