No More Physics as Justification!

A while back, I wrote a scientific defense of laziness.  I would again like to address the topic, from a slightly different viewpoint: that of motivation.

I am doing research for starting my own business, and one of the books I am reading is Go Do! by Jeremy Harbour.  In the interest of full disclosure, I must confess that I picked it because a) I was able to download it to my Kindle from my local library (side bar: how cool is that?!?) (2nd side bar: I haven’t yet figured out how to “return” it to the library. hmmm…) and because b) it was published in 2012, so I figured it was definitely still relevant.  Plus, he has a very casual, easy-to-read style of writing.  Other than that, I can’t say that so far I’ve really resonated with it.  He seems like a business opportunist, a serial entrepreneur if you will.  He starts, buys, and sells businesses for the thrill of it, coupled with a love of making money.  There’s nothing wrong with that, of course, but my approach will be different.  Quite simply, I really want to connect with people and provide a product/service that really makes them feel good.  (Although to be fair, I am hoping to do that making money thing, too.)

Still, I kept reading and found that Mr. Harbour has a brilliant discussion of motivation:

Your desires are manifested by your actions, so what you do, say, and how you act defines your desire.

You may think you want to make money [or go to the gym or hike with the dog or eat more veggies] but your actions show that you put watching football or television first…  Despite our best intentions, our actions betray our unconscious minds…

Your conscious mind thinks you want to start a business, but your unconscious psyche thinks you should choose the path of least resistance.  Your conscious mind knows you need to devote some time to planning your business when you get home from work, but your unconscious psyche craves that bottle of wine or an early night…  An inability to exert discipline on your unconscious psyche is perfectly understandable and something we all struggle with at one point or another.  Therefore, you have to train your mind in order to enable your conscious thoughts to begin to take the upper hand.

Good point, Jeremy Harbour.  Commence mind training now!  Let’s see, maybe I’ll read another chapter…

Leave a Reply

