Sticky Candy Situation

I live in a neighborhood with a lot of kids.  As seems like a logical thing to do, before Halloween I went to Costco and stocked up on candy.  Lots of candy!  And I got the good stuff!!  Reese’s, Snickers, and, Twix, oh my!  The only problem is I didn’t get a lot of trick-or-treaters.  (A Mexican friend has since informed me that a lot of Latino kids drive over to more posh neighborhoods for trick-or-treating.  Sorry I’m not fancy enough for you, kids.  Harumph.)

So, at the end of the night, my big plastic pumpkin was still pretty darn full of candy.  Slowly but surely, I’ve been nibbling my way through my stash.  A mini package of peanut M&Ms here, a baby Milky Way there.  Chocolatey sugary goodness.

Well, I finally decided enough was enough.  There’s no way in H-E-Double-Hockey-Sticks that I need to eat that much processed junk all by myself.  I picked out a few of each of my favorites, tucked them in the freezer for future rations, and threw out the rest in the trash.

I was feeling pretty good about my willpower…  Until I a few hours later, when I learned that there are actual good causes that would have happily accepted my candy donation.  I’m not going to fish my rejects out of the garbage can (ew gross!), but I will keep a few ideas in mind for next year.  For example, I could have participated in Halloween Candy Buy Back in which dentists “buy” kids’ candy with money, coupons, toothbrushes, etc.  The candy goes to Operation Gratitude, an organization which sends care packages to troops serving overseas.  Another organization, Operation Shoebox, does the same, except they’re based out of Florida instead of California.  And I imagine I might have found a few very happy recipients if I had made a few phone calls to local children’s hospitals or organizations feeding the homeless.  Next year, for sure.

Happy weekend, friends!  Hope yours is filled with only sweet things!!

Leave a Reply

