A Case of the Mondays

Have you ever seen the awesome movie Office Space?  If you haven’t, you’re definitely missing out.  It’s hilarious!!  Anyhoo, today I was having a case of the Mondays.

I didn’t want to get out of bed because it was cold in my room, but oh-so-deliciously warm and comfy under the covers.  But my neighbors’ dog kept barking so I couldn’t keep dozing and I eventually had to pee, so I dragged myself out of bed.  I decided I’d give myself a little treat to brighten up my Monday, so after I fed my dog, she and I took our morning walk down the street to some neighborhood shops.  Now, I’m one of maybe 3 weirdos on the planet who doesn’t like coffee (or espresso or anything coffee-flavored), but the coffee shop sells THE. BEST. tea lattes.  And I ❤ tea with a passion.  What pairs well with tea? you may ask.  Scones!!  It just so happens that the market across the street from the coffee shop sells THE. BEST. cherry chocolate chip scone.  They’re not too sweet, not too dry, and have juuuuuuust the right amount of dried cherries and chocolate chips.  Yum.

At the coffee shop, I order an Earl Grey tea latte with skim milk.  So decadent!  I don’t think anything of it, but my usual barista is not there.  He’s generally a little grumpy but oh well.  But the Monday morning staff are really nice and seem super cool, so I don’t miss him.  They hand me my latte, I stick a lid on it, and I head outside where my dog is patiently waiting.  My tea’s pretty hot so I don’t take a sip of it until I’ve crossed the street and run into a small commercial shoot taking up the sidewalk.  My dog and I have to wait for an opportunity to walk through when they’re not rolling.  While we wait for an okay from the PA* to cross, I take a sip.  What? I paid $4 for this?!?  This tastes nothing like my usual delicious Earl Grey tea latte!  I want the grumpy barista back!  I am so disappointed.  I mean, it’s not awful, but it’s not the same.  Bummer.

Well, it’ll still taste okay with a scone.  Mmmm, a cherry chocolate chip scone.  That will save my Monday morning!

I reach the market on the other side of the film shoot, and guess what.  Apparently they now open at 10 am instead of 9.  Grrrrrrr.  It’s 9:30.  I’m not going to admit defeat at this point, and my dog is certainly happy to continue our walk, so we mosey up and down a few side streets to kill time.

By a little after 10 am, we are back at the market.  I head inside and check out the bakery case.  My heart sinks: they don’t have any cherry chocolate chip scones!  Noooooooooooooooo!!!!  I settle for a gluten-free carrot raisin muffin and shuffle on home to enjoy the slightly lackluster spoils of my journey.  Whomp whomp.

Meanwhile, my dog is having this kind of Monday.

95% of the time, my dog is super mellow and actually pretty standoffish, but today she is having a! case! of! the! super awesome! Mondays! whee!!!  It’s like today is her absolute favorite day.  She’s excited for breakfast, excited to play with me, excited for our walk, excited to sniff exciting things, excited to meet exciting people, excited for a super awesome belly rub.  A couple of times during our walk, she even gets so excited that she can’t contain herself: she zooms wildly in circles on 2 different lawns on 2 different streets and once in a parking lot.**

 

I guess your Monday is all what you make of it, huh?  Hope you’re having a good kind of Monday.

 

 

 

 

* A PA, or production assistant, is the low man on the totem pole in a film, tv, or commercial shoot.  The job description varies depending on whether the project is union or non-union, but on all types of sets, it’s a PA’s job to “lock up” the set.  This means (s)he has to prevent anybody from walking through the shot who’s not an actor or an extra and to keep it quiet for sound purposes.

**Don’t worry, there were 2 cars parked in the lot and nobody else was driving in or out, so it was safe.

2 thoughts on “A Case of the Mondays

Leave a Reply

