Technology Update

Ladies and gents, I am excited to inform you that I have re-joined the 21st century–I am now the proud owner of a new smartphone (again)!!  Although I’m very glad I was able to borrow my dad’s old flip phone so my friends didn’t think I completely fell off the face of the planet, there are just so many things I can do with a smartphone that I was missing.

I can get my emails on the go!  I can text without pressing “4” three times to write an “i!”  If I have a burning question, the entire internet is at my fingertips!  I can find all the answers to my questions (of course I’ll forget them 30 seconds later but that’s beside the point)!  If I want to know if I should carry an umbrella on a given day, all I have to do is ask my phone!!  This is an especially cool feature because I wasn’t able to speak to my phone before and expect any sort of response!

Of course, there’s a definite line between utilizing one’s phone as a source of information and hiding behind it as a substitute for human interaction.  I refuse to be one of those people tethered to their smartphone 24/7.  (And don’t even get me started on the people who walk around with bluetooths [blueteeth?  ha!] in their ears all the time.  Is a phone call you may or may not receive at any given time that much more important than the actual conversation you’re having with the person in front of you?  It looks like you’re just waiting for a better offer.  In the style of Stephanie from Full House, “How rude!!”  <<gets down from soapbox>>)

Still…  Oh technology, I’ve missed you!  Sigh…

Have a great weekend, WordPress friends!  I wish you all some good news as well!!

Leave a Reply

