Conscious Consuming

One of the things that is most important to me is being healthy.  When you feel good, you feel good, right??  Everybody knows that the building blocks of health include proper diet and exercise, but there is a lot of discrepancy among the experts as to exactly what the “best” ways to eat (low fat? low carb? vegan?) and work out (running? Cross Fit? weight training? yoga?) are.

By my line of reasoning, if you begin with high quality foods, minimally processed, and chock-full o’ nutritional goodies (like protein, good fats, vitamins, minerals, etc), that is a great way to start eating healthy.

Yesterday, I found an article by The Huffington Post that pretty much hits the nail on the head in terms of how I want to source my food.  It’s by Nicolette Hahn Niman and it’s called “Avoiding Factory Farm Foods: An Eater’s Guide.”  I consider myself pretty educated on a lot of health food issues, but I still managed to learn some new things.

Rather than blabbering on and on about ethical sources of meat and animal products, I’ll just let Mrs. Niman take it away.  If you’re interested, follow the link above!

Leave a Reply

