TBT

I was perusing my computer and the interwebz in search of blog post ideas.  When your blog is entitled Thought of the Day Blog, there are a lot of daily thoughts to catalogue.  Sometimes I run short on new ideas (and this is only blog post #60.  Wow.).  Then, as I was re-reading my “Bucket List” document, I realized it was Throwback Thursday, or #TBT if you will.

One of the items on my bucket list (#22 if you want to be specific) is to visit Europe again.  My ex-boyfriend and I actually had a “Europe fund” where we would each put $20-100/month in an old coffee can to save up for our trip, depending on how rich or poor we were at the time.  However, he and I split up, and I definitely lived off my half of the Europe fund for awhile.  And I’m starting my own business, so a trip overseas is not currently on my radar.

But… for TBT I can reminisce about my last trip to Europe, in 2005!  I was in college, and I spent 6 weeks studying at the Universite de Bourgogne, in Dijon, France.  My mom and I flew out a couple weeks early, and we spent time in Italy and Switzerland before she dropped me off in France.

One weekend some students in the study abroad program and I took a side trip to visit chateaux in the Loire Valley.

A friend and I having fun with the props for kiddos

A friend and I having fun with the props for kiddos

 

But most of the 6 weeks were spent in Dijon.  I lived with a really nice French lady who was a hoot and a half.  This was the view out the window my room.  In the mornings I could smell fresh bread baking from the boulangerie down the street.

Dijon view

I’m drooling just thinking about those fresh baguettes.

 

After my summer classes were over, my dad and I met up in Paris, and we spent a week and a half touring France.  It was epic.  I can’t wait to go back again someday!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

