Progress Report and Goodbyes

Hi all.  Did everyone have a good weekend?  I suppose you did if you were a Seahawks fan, huh?

I had a busy weekend.  Lots of moving and packing interspersed with activities.  Nonstop, really.

Saturday was the memorial for my ballet teacher from college.  She was a pretty marvelous lady.  I wrote about her awhile back.  Her husband had asked me to speak during the service, and although I wanted to, I didn’t think I could get through it.  Fortunately, a friend of mine (and another of my teacher’s former students) was able to read my speech on my behalf.  Several people approached us afterwards and said what a wonderful tribute it was.  And I felt really honored to be even a small part of such an amazing memorial.  If my life is even half as interesting as hers was, I will have a lot of exciting stories!

After the service, my friend and I went to the ballet.  The Royal New Zealand Ballet was performing Giselle downtown at the Music Center.  Although I’m a giant ballet nerd, I’d never seen Giselle before, so that was neat.  I think my ballet teacher would have approved.  🙂

Sunday I met up with various friends in between packing and schlepping my stuff to my storage unit.  I had brunch with a friend from college, and I attended (a little late, whoops) a Super Bowl party later in the day.

Monday was the official U-Haul rental day, so all my furniture has gone to my storage unit.  I am currently typing this blog post from an air mattress on the floor.  Literally, I have no other furniture.  The rooms sort of echo.  It’s creepy.

It’s hard to say goodbye to my friends.   It helps that I’m telling everyone that I’ll be back in 6 months.  In my head, that’s the plan, but it’s a somewhat flexible plan.  But it’s a lot easier to say, “See you later!” than “Goodbye.”

4 thoughts on “Progress Report and Goodbyes

  1. Sorry to hear about your teacher. That’s good you were able to go to her memorial.
    I also don’t like saying good-bye. I prefer “see you later” too. And you will see your friends again!

Leave a Reply

