Feelin’ the Love

I know V-Day is over.  All the pink and red and heart-covered trinkets are now on sale in the stores.  But I’m going to prolong the subject of love and relationships a little longer.  That’s totally cool, right?  I still have chocolate left.  It’s like I’m still celebrating, kinda?

Seriously, though, I read a really interesting article on relationships called “How to Pick Your Life Partner.”  Before you yawn and click on the back button of your browser, you gotta give it a chance.  Here, I’ll make it easy for you to make an informed decision about how much you want to read it.  The first two paragraphs go:

Valentine’s Day is really two holidays bundled up in one. For people in a relationship, it’s “Celebrate Your Relationship Day.” For single people, it’s “You’re Alone and Unloved Again This Year Aren’t You Day.” It’s the one holiday that actively taunts an entire group of people.

Christmas used to make Jewish children cry until the first half of the 20th Century, when Hanukkah turned into Jewish Christmas and solved the problem. And patriotic holidays like Thanksgiving and Columbus Day will always cause a few tantrums because they happen to celebrate genocide. But only Valentine’s Day causes mass depression.”

It’s a really great perspective on happy vs unhappy relationships vs being single.  Good stuff.  And if you like it as much as I do, here’s Part 2.  If you’re in a relationship/marriage that meets all the criteria in Part 2, that’s pretty darn awesome.  Can I be you when I grow up?

If you have any thoughts on “How to Pick Your Life Partner, ” either Part 1 or 2, please do share.  I’d be interested in your opinion.

6 thoughts on “Feelin’ the Love

  1. Really great articles!!

    “If you’re in a relationship/marriage that meets all the criteria in Part 2, that’s pretty darn awesome. Can I be you when I grow up?” …I’m with you!!

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I might as well check
    things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to looking at your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

