It’s Just Like Riding a Bike

Learning how to ride a bike is a tried-and-true American rite of passage.  Do you remember when you learned?  All excitement and nervousness as the training wheels came off?  Your mom or dad jogging next to you, holding on to the seat and the handlebars?

Depending on your sense of adventure, you either yelled something along the lines of, “Let go!  I can do it!!”  or “Aaah, don’t let go, Daddy!”

 

My, how times have changed.

 

I was out walking my dog, as I am wont to do–several times a day, as a matter of fact–when I noticed that this American pastime has changed a bit from my childhood.  (Or at least, for a certain munchkin I observed.)

He was probably about 6 years old, completely decked out in safety gear.

Instead of riding a bike, he was zooming around on a tiny electric motorcycle.

It was like this, except less male model and more safety gear.

It was like this, except less male model and more helmet-y.

 

The best part… his mom was trailing along behind him.  In a golf cart.

Oh, rich South Floridians.  You never cease to entertain me!

Leave a Reply

