Switching Gears

Ok, enough Florida trash talk.  As my mom pointed out, I keep ragging on Florida, even if I’m trying to be funny about it.  Anyhoo, we’re gonna switch gears.  There are a lot of things about Florida/SoFla that are pretty awesome.  In fact, I’m going to devote the rest of the week to telling you all the cool things I plan to do while I’m here.

Today’s theme: Awesome museums!!

I definitely want to go back to the Flagler Museum.  I went several years ago when my sister and I were visiting our family, and we were all looking for something to do to entertain ourselves.

In a nutshell, Henry Flagler was one of the early tycoons in Florida.  He founded Standard Oil and basically had a bunch of money.  My history might be a little rusty, but as I understand it, he built the railroad in/to Florida, and then all the people moved here.  Or something like that.

So he built this huge mansion (“Whitehall”) in Palm Beach, finishing in 1902, and it is now a museum.  A super cool museum.

Flagler Museum Ext

Flagler Museum Int

 

 

Yep.  My history is a bit rusty.  I guess I’ll have to go back and brush up!

 

Another interesting museum is Bonnet House  and Gardens in Ft. Lauderdale.  I’ve never been, but I want to go!

Bonnet House Ext

 

 

I like old houses, history, and gardens.  Seems like a no-brainer to me!

2 thoughts on “Switching Gears

  1. I’ve never heard of the Bonnet House. Looks cool. I also love Vizcaya Museum & Gardens-though it’s waaaaaay down in south Miami. Have you been to Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens? They are having some sort of Festival the last weekend in March that includes a Japanese tea ceremony: http://www.morikami.org/

    • Yes! Vizcaya is pretty awesome!! I visited there last year, though, so it didn’t officially make today’s list. I was also juuuust at the Morikami last weekend for a Japanese tea ceremony. So cool!!! I will probably be there periodically for special events during my Florida visit!

Leave a Reply

